The Food Project: Youth. Food. Community.

Skip to main content

A Big Thank You from TFP's ED

Dear Friends and Supporters,

This past Wednesday night, The Food Project celebrated our birthday in grand fashion, holding our “20 Years of Growing Together” gala at the studios of WGBH. By every measure the event was a huge success: every ticket was sold, the venue was packed with guests, the food – much of which was prepared using freshly harvested Food Project produce – was delicious, and the speakers moved everyone with their words of inspiration and hope. What’s even more impressive is that this was The Food Project’s first-ever event of this scale. Thanks to everyone who participated, we’ve laid a solid foundation for celebrating our work in the future.

20th anniversary gala at WGBH's headquarters.
20th anniversary gala at WGBH's headquarters.
As with all events of this magnitude and complexity, numerous people were involved in its planning and production. They are far too many to thank by name, but I do want to extend special recognition to the members of the event planning committee: Deborah Aliff, Jessica Brooks, Cassandria Campbell, Nora Carey, Rosemary Costello, Olivia English, Jen James, Margaret Leipsitz, Marty Mazzone, Faith Michaels, Linda Plazonja, Chris Powell, Amelie Ratliff, Sharon Reilly, Luciana Schachnik, Lenore Travis, and Clara Wainwright. Led by the inimitable Linda McQuillan, these individuals worked tirelessly over the past several months to make the gala the great success that it was.

Special thanks are also due to our honorary speakers Frances Moore Lappé and Gordon Hamersley, as well as to emcee and auctioneer Robert Lewis, Jr. He single-handedly guaranteed that the gala would succeed in one of its most important purposes – to raise money!

For those of you who could not join us, we have posted a photo album on our Facebook page.

A heartfelt thanks to everyone, new friends and longtime ones, who came out and showed their love and support for this amazing organization.

All best,

Selvin L. Chambers III
Executive Director


Share this post: click here to share this page